Tags

, , , , , ,

I have taken a nice chunk of time off from writing. Have to admit, I haven’t missed it one bit. Once in a while I’ll get a blog idea or have a small feeling of wanting to write, but by the time I’m able to get to a keyboard the feeling has passed. I did less reading too. Just starting back up with that. Read one book a friend of mine leant me and it was a little inspiring. Not so much the book itself, I mean it got my my brain going for fiction writing. But it’s like going to a motivational seminar, you’re all revved up while you’re there, and for a while after, but then it wears off.

 Right now I’m reading Gone Girl (finally), and it’s really fabulous. It’s one of those authors I love to hate. The writing is so good it’s inspiring, and at the same time it’s so good it’s intimidating. I end up saying to myself, why bother trying when there are people like that out there? Two dozen of her lines already, I have just stopped and read over and over and over again because they’re that good.

It’s a double edged sword, for me at least, reading good writers.

I’m still flirting with the idea of blogging for the paper. One day I want to, and the next I don’t. Since I wouldn’t be required  to write it everyday, I suppose the days I don’t want to do it really don’t matter.

The last couple of days I’ve been writing, for lack of anything else to do. With the cable gone we’ve been turning to Netflix. I didn’t know, or didn’t remember, that we had a data limit on our internet. We went over data for December. No biggie, I figured it was because the boys were home for two weeks. For January we were already at 96% before half the month was over. We are now currently over, so Netflix is off the table until February again.

This is why I did some writing, no screen time to jump into and forget about the world. Started something new, no idea where it’s going. Already killed off a character. Went back to something old I’m considering picking up again. This, of course, is all contingent on where my mood wants to go at any given moment.

Felt better to write today with no time constraint. Not going to pressure myself into finishing the Jersey Justice Sequel either, so there.

Feels weird not signing off with, until tomorrow…

Gotta think, of something new.

Same bat time, same bat channel.

I’ll keep trying.

