Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 325 of 365

Spent some time today watching Roots. It’s on one of the cable stations all day long so I’m seeing it all in a row. I won’t get to see all of it today. It’s bringing back memories of when it was first on in the 70s. 

I remember my parents watching and talking about it. I wasn’t old enough to stay up to watch all of it. I remember all the commercials for it, and I vaguly remember knowing who Alex Haley was. I did see them all eventually.

Mini series were kind of a new thing then, they were all the rage for a while. That, and movie of the week. The character names are coming back to me as I watch, Kunta Kinte, Kizzy, Fiddler, Kizzy and Chicken George. 

It would be interesting to have a remake of this with a little more realism and a little less romanticism.  At the time it was fascinating, but I have no doubt a lot of artistic license was substituted for facts. I suppose you can’t avoid that. You can only gleam so much from family research. I guess what I mean is, that TV was more sanitized then than it is now, so if they remade it, it would be grittier. 

I wonder how it would go over now? I’m not sure if I’d watch it or not. As much as I enjoy history there is some I don’t want to see, more than once at least, because I’m ashamed it happened at all. I feel obligated to watch at least once. 

It will be interesting to see how people feel about our history a hundred years from now. 

Where will my descendent be then?

Untill tomorrow…

