Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 322 of 365

October 21, 2015. A day that will live in infamy, in movie history at least. Actually, it’s been living in infamy for twenty-five plus years already, you could argue thirty. Today is the day that Doc Brown and Marty (and Jennifer) traveled to, into the future from 1985.

Funny, for some reason I knew this day would come, but at the same time I never thought it would. It’s the specific date, I think, that makes it special. Books and other movies like 1984 or 2001: A Space Odyssey mention specific years, but for some reason they’re not as meaningful as the specific date in Back to the Future. Maybe I just thought I would’t make it this far.

The future has arrived, and in the blink of an eye, I might add. Must be a weird day for Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd and the rest of the cast and crew. Everybody born tomorrow, and hence forth, will all have lives after the fact and can never aspire to reach today, as it will be in the past. Back to the Past for them. They’ll never be able to say, “I lived it.” So sad…

No flying cars, no hover boards, and thankfully, none of those clothes. Plenty has happened in those years regardless, especially in technology. I’ve wanted anti-gravity devices since The Jetsons. I’m not sure the physics of that are even possible, but ya never know.

We are going to see the movie tonight. I’m curious how crowded it will be. It’s pretty stormy here right now, but I bet it will be a full house. Facebook memes have been showing the wrong date for a long time, but they’ve certainly publicized it, so everybody knows. I’m thinking that may make a difference.

Part of me wants to say it’s an historic day, maybe not hugely, but fun nonetheless, and definitely a once in a lifetime as this specific date will never come again. I guess that makes every day once in a lifetime.

Until tomorrow… (Or possibly the day before yesterday)

