Tags

, , , , , , ,

Slice 317 of 365

Recently I saw something about a man who said he didn’t belong to a religion, but he was a follower of Jesus. I thought that was quite interesting. Follow only the person, not the religion, why not? Following somebody’s example like that, i.e. Mother Theresa, seems like a pretty good life choice.

I’ve always thought of Jesus as a fictional character, but he had some basic life choices I could get behind. When I was in basic training, all we had to read was the bible. A lot of what I read was plain common sense to me scattered within the rest of it, in my humble opinion. Proverbs was my favorite I think, if I had to choose.

I often thought the ten commandments (there were fifteen ya know) were half common sense and half religious.

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
    Pretty heavy handed.  Sure, give them free will, and then rules and temptations. Running a psych experiment, are we?
  2. You shall not make idols.
    Hmmm, is god not an idol? Regardless, I agree, please get rid of American Idol already, for the love of the flying spaghetti monster, enough is enough.
  3. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.
    That’s another free will thing. You create beings (supposedly) and then have to test how loyal they are to you? More garlic bread for my spaghetti please.
  4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
    I don’t know about holy, but there is some good sense in having a day off, especially in this busy, chaotic world.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
    Yes children, pay attention. Good, common sense advice here.
  6. You shall not murder.
    Well duh
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
    Another duh, but people are people I suppose.
  8. You shall not steal.
    Seeing the common sense theme here?
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
    I consider white lies to save feelings OK.
  10. You shall not covet.
    Lookie, no touchie.

So, all in all, if you go back to the beginning, back to the simple basics of humanity, I could see Jesus (if he existed) as a pretty cool dude as a simple man.

I’d take him for latte and chat.

Until tomorrow…

