Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 294 of 365

Writing has taken a big back seat lately to the new job, among other things. A big part of it is internal. My mental attitude has not been present. For the last two weeks I have set my alarm for 5:30 A.M. determined to get up and write for at least an hour before my day begins. Ultimately, my alarm goes off, and I roll over saying, screw that.

Been having such a hard time caring about writing lately. Coming down off the high of the book release I suppose. And it was a quick fall with not as many initial sales as I’d hoped. I know, I know, I told myself that I wasn’t going to expect anything. Raise your hand if you believed that. No hands? Yep, thought so.

It seems to be spiraling. I belong to a small writer’s group on Facebook, less than twenty people, and they all write circles around me. I just read a friend’s first forty pages recently, and she writes circles around me too. All over Facebook and Twitter are new releases everyday. You could easily drown in a sea of new books in one day alone.

All of it makes me want to give up. I can’t find the energy to fight upstream for lord knows how long. I know it hasn’t been that long yet, I’m just losing steam and don’t know how to get it back. I’m making up excuses to procrastinate and not write. I was almost glad that I hurt my back Sunday and I had to lie down all day.

Well, we shall see how it goes.

Until tomorrow…

