Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 267 of 365

Today is for one person in particular. I’m not sure why today, but here it is.

Dear Liam,

I know your mom. I want to tell you about her. You see, I know how much she hurts when she thinks about all the things she missed out on watching you grow up. Sometimes she’s strong about it, but I can see it in her eyes. She wonders about what you would be like. I think about that a lot, and it made me want to tell you about her.

I’ve known her almost two years now, and she likes to talk, a lot, so she’s easy to get to know. We met not very long before your birthday, which is soon again. I heard all about you at a coffee meeting.

She has a very real, very deep passion for her work. She wants to do it well, and in the process help people. I say all the time I want to save the world, but she’s actually doing it a little at a time.

She’s strong and brave. She’s going back to school to get her Master’s right now. What an awesome thing to do at this point in her life! I could never do it. Where she gets the energy I’ll never know. She stresses over it, but you wait, she’ll kick its ass. Her bravery and strength are, in part, from you.

The biggest thing I can tell you about your mother, is the size of her heart. She has a capacity to love that is extraordinary, especially after the things she’s been through. You know at the end of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, when his heart grows three times it’s size? Well, that’s your mom. A heart big enough for the whole world.

Enough love to spread it around like butter on bread. She’s buttered me up, and trust me, I’m a pain in the ass to love. I have pushed her patience level way beyond normal capacity too many times. Turns out though, I just very recently discovered, that I love her too.

These are just a few of the things I’ve learned over the last two years. There is more, so much more, to her, that I just can’t put down in words. Not something a writer wants to say, but on occasion, there are just things in the world, where the words and the language have yet to be discovered to describe them. Your mom is like that.

One of my very favorite movies is Fried Green Tomatoes. Near the end there is a line that fits your mother perfectly, and I think of her when I hear it.

“I guess you already know that there are angels masquerading as people walking around this planet and your mom is the bravest one of those.”

I don’t really know where you are or what I think about that, but something in me wants to believe you’ll see this and smile. If you are around at all, tap her on the shoulder and whisper in her ear, she would like that.

Until tomorrow…

