Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 253 of 365

Our mailbox is on the street because we have a very long driveway. About a week after I got out of the hospital, I found a notice in the mailbox that said we needed maintenance. Twelve years here, and that’s the first time I’ve had anything but mail in the box.

There is a prickly pear cactus growing next to the post, beneath the mailbox. I did not plant it. One day it just sprang up. Prickly pears don’t usually live in our environment. Our elevation is too high, and the winters too cold. Apparently, it has grown too large, and is impeding the mail carrier’s ability to reach the box from her vehicle.

Also, a small portion of the paved road by the dirt driveway has broken off into several pieces right in front of the mailbox.

The maintenance request was to trim the cactus, and remove the road debris. I was given until August 14, which is tomorrow. Due to my recent surgery that date wasn’t going to happen.

So yesterday, I wrote a note to the letter carrier and put it, and the maintenance request, in an envelope and in the mailbox. I requested more time, until September 1st, and explained about the surgery.

Today, I retrieved the mail and find my envelope there. Tammy, our carrier, had written a note back.

“No worries! I’ll send somebody out to do it. You feel better!”

I was completely taken by surprise. Life has felt overwhelming after the hospital, and to have this one little thing off my plate really made a big difference.

I need to find a good way to thank her.

Until tomorrow…

