Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 242 of 365

I used to be a real estate agent. It was an awful, awful business, and I greatly disliked it.  One of the things I learned quickly, was that there was no living to be made in real estate. Only some people make a living working 100 hours a week. The living was in selling services to real estate agents.

I’m discovering writing is very similar. The amount of services offered to writers for promotion alone is overwhelming. You can buy reader verified book reviews, you can buy tweets, and all sorts of other services.

I am literally, a minuscule minnow in an ocean of authors, many of whom are amazing. Fish don’t usually want to be caught. Maybe I don’t either, Maybe I just need to get bigger and be a curiosity. The thousand pound minnow who writes books. I guess I would be curious about that. Maybe that’s not a bad children’s book idea. Dibs!!

I have 20 sales and two reviews. I’m not sure if that’s good or not. I think two reviews so far is amazing, two people finished very fast. I take that as they liked it, which is reflected in the reviews. I guess I thought the first day or two there would have been more sales based on the amount of people told. But people do have lives!

It will be what it is, and I will do my marketing bit as much as I can. It really drains my brain, though.

The main focus now is to get back to writing the sequel!

Yes, writing…

Maybe I should check Twitter first…

Or maybe the author Facebook page needs attention…

No, no, no, I should check on sales…

Ice cream, yeah that’s it, I need ice cream first, that will make it all better.

Until tomorrow…

