Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 223 of 365

I have read many times about writing fiction. A common theme is don’t be too detailed. I like details. Not to the point of minutiae of course, but to make the reader see what I see.

I create the path they take. They can see or not see whatever they want on the path, but if I want to plant a happy little tree for them to enjoy along that path, even if they’re running from some hideous monster, then I will, so there. There might even be some magical portal in the tree, you don’t know!

I love to read James Michener, who I would consider the king of details and description. My mother introduced me to him when I was in high school (which was pure luck because she usually read trashy romance). Chesapeake was the first thing I read and I was hooked. I normally read him in the summer because they’re so long, but I’ve been failing at that the last several summers.

When my oldest son critiques things I send him to read, he often writes notes like, unnecessary, next to some of my details. I always smile. Maybe he’s right. I enjoy putting that little extra bit into a reader’s head, even if it has nothing to do with the story. I enjoy writing it too.

When I’m writing I don’t think about the business aspect. Or about keeping it clean and using as few words as possible. I use the words that work for me and the characters in the heat of the moment.

There is no formula to say if it’s right or wrong because of its subjectivity. So as far as I’m concerned if I write it, it’s right.

Unless I possibly change it, then it’s right that time.

Until tomorrow…

