Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 189 of 365

So let me start with I am not looking for a relationship, I’m in one. This post was inspired by an episode of How I Met Your Mother where Ted signs up with a matchmaker type dating service and she mathematically determines there are only eight women in New York City for him. 

I thought I would do some basic, uncomplicated math and see how many available women there might be for me, here in AZ. Again, let me state, unequivocally, that I am not looking. Thank you for your attention to that detail. 

There are about 321,000,000 people in the U.S. So let’s start there. Say half are women, that’s 160.5 million. Let’s half that again for women unavailable in whatever way, married, lesbian, etc., 80,000,000 for easier math.  

Now my personal age range would be like 30-50. Here’s where my simplicity probably goes off track. Average life span of women is 80 years so I divide 80 million by 80 to divide the ages into decade long brackets of 10 million each giving me 20 million possible choices. 

The population of AZ is approximately 6.7 million which is about 2% of the U.S. Population. 2% of 20 million is 400,000 so it would seem there are 400,000 single women in my preferred age range, in AZ according to my math.I suppose I could have just started with the AZ population as well. 

Siri just told me there are approximately 1.28 million single women in AZ so maybe my math isn’t all that far off.

400,000 locally out of 7 billion globally doesn’t seem like such bad odds. 

But like I said, I’m not looking. 

Until tomorrow…

