Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 170 of 365

My new work laptop came today, ordered out of necessity. My Windows 7 tower is just too slow for some new software we had to switch too earlier this year. I went for the laptop for potability and two screen access.

Getting the new machine reminded of the old children’s song “There’s a Hole in the Bucket”. I have a bunch of things I have to do before I can use it.

It starts a cavalcade of events.

I have to clean up my desk first because I stopped using that desk when we moved from XP to Windows 7 because that machine was on a different desk. So I have a bunch of filing to do. Then several things have found a home on that desk that now need other, permanent homes.

Then I need to move and find a temporary home for the mini laptop that I was using when we were still using XP. Temporary because it’s not mine and it needs to be returned.

Then I need to back up the Win 7 box, which I do monthly anyway, but this one should be current, so I can move all the important data to the new machine along with any software I have to install.

Now where do I do that? On my desk of course, but my desk isn’t clean dear Liza, Dear Liza…

Until tomorrow…

