Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 165 of 365

Watching NCIS today and McGee was questioning a suspect who was a minor and a bully. McGee was obviously a nerdy kid and was bullied as a child. He says to the bully you’ll probably not remember any of the names of the kids that you’ve bullied but guess what, they’ll all remember yours. 

True enough, I can still name them all. 

A slight coincidence because while reading my book today I was reminded that I used one of my regular tormentors as a character name. Just a minor throw away character but I had forgotten I’d done it. 

Was weird to see his name. I hadn’t thought about him for a long time. He had the same birthday as I did but he was a year older even though we were in the same grade. I won’t go as far as to call it a gang but he had followers who would assist in his daily rituals. 

I considered changing the character name, and I may still, but I used it thinking what he might be like now. Kind of hoping he amounted to nothing and that karma in the form of body beatings may have found him. 

Ya know what though? I don’t want to think that way about anybody. I don’t want to be that person. I hope he’s happy, healthy and successful. I do hope he’s changed and I hope he’s raised his children differently than he lived and than how his parents raised him. 

I’m going to change that characters name I think. 

Yeah, definitely.

Until tomorrow…

