Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 106 of 365

Joey and I introduced Becca to Abbot and Costello this week with Buck Privates. A silly, slapstick look at the army, pre our involvement in WWII, that only Lou and Bud (Ok probably the Three Stooges and Laurel and Hardy too) could pull off. Plus there are the Andrew Sisters, need I say more?

I love the fact that Joey likes and appreciates a film like this and the comedic aspects. He laughs just as hard watching this as he does Friends, his favorite show. He also appreciated the Boogie Woogie siblings which surprised and thrilled me. Sometimes I think he’s more open to older entertainment than Mike is.

Becca was definitely wary and the black and white I’m sure didn’t help to build her confidence. She laughed a good amount at all our favorite parts. Not sure how she felt about the music, she didn’t really comment. 

I love all their music, Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy is one of my all time faves. I read up a little on them during the movie and like Abbot and Costello they had a bit of a rocky career too. I guess it happens to the best of them. That’s a lot of time to spend together day after day, week after week.

Lou Costello was born in Paterson, NJ same place Joey was born. There’s a statue of him there, Lou, not Joey.

Seen their movies, seen their TV show but seeing them in person, on stage must have been something to see. Can’t write about them without mentioning who’s on first, it would be wrong, it would be a sin, it would be heavily flirting with the dark side and asking it to come in for coffee. 

I would be a bad boy……….. (Damn it, can’t find any video for this.)

Until tomorrow…

