Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 69 of 365

My Bluetooth keyboard for my iPad finally died. I haven’t charged it since I got it. The instructions said it would work approximately three months being used an average of two hours a day. I don’t remember exactly when I got it but since starting this project I do use it every day, except for right now of course, and that’s just over two months.

How many things do people charge on a daily basis these days? I charge my phone and tablet and now the keyboard. My kids have their devices and laptops. I can’t imagine how many electronics could be sucking electricity in a very full household.

We just take it for granted. We just expect electricity will always be available. We expect that water will always flow from the tap. We expect life will continue in our American, industrialized, soft-bodied, blinder-wearing way without interruptions. And if there are problems we get pretty darn upset and impatient.

If we lost our infrastructure tomorrow most of the country would crawl in a hole and die. It would take a matter of days, maybe less, for complete chaos to run rampant and for the strong to crush the weak into oblivion.

I’ve been trying to remember what was the first rechargeable item in my life. I think it was rechargeable batteries when I was a kid. There was this plastic box that plugged into the wall and different size batteries fit in it. They were special batteries, you couldn’t just charge regular batteries. And of course they weren’t cheap but in the long run they were supposed to save you money.

The first rechargeable item I had myself was a cordless phone. It charged in the phone cradle, it was one of the first ones with the antenna that had to be extended. It was my senior year of high school and I believe it cost me a hundred bucks. My first call was to my friend Julie and I went walking down the block saying, “can you still hear me?” until I finally lost her about halfway down the block. Julie passed away last year, that’s a different story…

All these devices, all the power and time lost on them, what has it gotten us? What will it get us? Is it really the step forward we think it is? What’s it teaching our kids?

Who knows?

I just wish my body’s batteries were as easy to charge as plugging in.

Until tomorrow…

