Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Slice 59 of 365

Today is a big day for new commercials. There is some sporting event intertwined with them, can’t do anything about that ruining the entertainment, but you don’t have to watch that part.

I love new commercial day. Lots of good, fattening, unnecessary food and funny advertising selling us expensive things that we really have no need for.

Now that the agenda is out of the way the truth is the commercials are often freaking hysterical. And even once a year I can let the game get into my system for a few hours.

Having a little bit of company and the usual game day goodies, chips and salsa, buffalo chicken dip etc. Been eating everything in sight lately, too much work stress, more like lack of work stress.

The best football memories I have are from high school and being in marching band. Practice twice a week on Tuesdays and Thursdays and then Saturday morning before game time.

Practice was so much more than learning and getting better. It was friendship plain and simple. A thing I didn’t know anything about until then. Same thing with the games. Even as band geeks we were accepted in that place and in that context.

Games could be hot or freezing depending on the day. September through November could produce all kinds of weather. We couldn’t wear anything over our uniforms so to keep warm we would have to bulk up underneath. We could wear gloves but only while we weren’t playing.

I look back at it now and wonder how I did it (teenagers seem to be able to endure anything when they feel like it) but at the time it was the best thing in my life and I wouldn’t have given it up for anything.

Today’s event I could take or leave easier than choosing between chocolate covered fudge or chocolate covered chocolate with double chocolate ice cream but I’m sure that’s just me.

Until tomorrow…

