Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slice 56 of 365

Work has gotten so slow and intermittent that several weeks ago I applied for a model job at the college for art classes. It was advertised as “Models draped and undraped.” The pay was $9 – $12 an hour, but for just standing there, blowing in the wind not having to do any real work, any cash is better than none at all, which is what I’m currently pulling in.

I got a call from an instructor yesterday for a meeting, not even really an interview, what could they ask?

Can you stand like this?

Good, now can you sit like this?

Where do you see yourself in five years, still modeling or moved on to performance artist?

My questions for them:

Do you provide the robe or do I need to bring my own?

Do I need to wax?

Will the room be heated?

I’m guessing she just wants to see what I look like, which she could have done by e-mail, but I guess she needs to see what kind of person I am. I could see a lot of flakes applying for something like this for many reasons. You have class, model doesn’t show, no class.

I’ve never done a nude scene but I’m an actor and if it’s integral to the plot I’d do it. It’s not like I’d be randomly stripping in front of a room full of people. These are artists, they’re a whole different breed of people anyway who see more beauty in things than flaws. Besides my flaws are in my mind, nobody else’s.

I can act like I’m clothed and just a statue in a museum. Most of the people are just glancing at me with no real stare or purpose. I can also request that the whole class get nude. I wonder how that would go over?

I’d be interested in the artist’s work, to see how I’d be portrayed by different people with different views. I think I know what I look like but does everybody see me that way? We can all look at the same thing, even the simplest of things, and see it so very differently. I don’t know how it works but if I do it I’d love to have a copy of one the student’s works.

It is a small town so there is a pretty good posibility that I may run into these students on occasion. The question is can we look each other in the eye. I guess that depends on if I got the class to strip with me or not.

Until tomorrow…

