Tags

, , , , ,

Slice 50 of 365

Somedays I just have nothing in my head to write about. You’d think that life in general would provide endless subjects to discuss and that is entirely true but it doesn’t mean my brain can wrap itself around any one of those subjects on any given day.

Sometimes it’s about just not having the juice to put thoughts together in any comprehensive manner. Not that that has stopped me in the past, or now for that matter, I’m not done yet for today, squirrel!

Somedays it’s personal matters that get in the way that are just not the right subject to talk about but dull the creative juices to the point where nothing flows, not even a trickle. You can probably tell those days.

I thought maybe I should have some kind of go to list of things to write about when my brain is being uncooperative. Since this blog can be whatever I want it to be it’s pretty darn versatile.

There are plenty of places to get writing prompts. What is a writing prompt you ask? dailywritingtips.com defines it as:

“A writing prompt is simply a topic around which you start jotting down ideas. The prompt could be a single word, a short phrase, a complete paragraph or even a picture, with the idea being to give you something to focus upon as you write. You may stick very closely to the original prompt or you may wander off at a tangent.”

A few examples:
It was the first snowfall of the year.
He hadn’t seen her since the day they left High School.
The city burned, fire lighting up the night sky.
Silk.
She studied her face in the mirror.

So I could choose from literally tens of thousands of prompts from tons of websites or I could solicit suggestions which could be a fun project if enough people participated.

Might have to do that in the future. Ask readers to suggest prompts and then I’ll post them and hold a vote and write on the winning one. And of course I can write my own prompts which could be a post in itself too. Any time I’m stuck for material I reference that prompt post and run with it.

I could pick any memory I have and walk the fine line of truth and fiction with it. Good or bad memory, anything that gets my brain exercised. I have enough of both, I should write them down before I start forgetting too much anyway.

I love to write descriptions. I thought I could go someplace, any room in the house, outside, grocery store, wherever and just describe the scene or any part of it or person/people in detail so you feel like you’re right there or that you want to be there. Or pick a person I see in any location and write a background story about them based just on what I see.

Lastly, story ideas. I always have story ideas. They may not be well thought out or perfectly crafted but I always have them. I often pitch ideas to the kids that cause them to roll their eyes at me. Sometimes I just like making their eyes roll.

I will have to keep this post handy, as I read it over there’s lots of good stuff here for future use.

I’ll leave you with one writing prompt of my own:

“The black lace bra and panties didn’t fit him quite right.”

Until tomorrow…

