Tags

, , , , , , ,

Slice 29 of 365

I don’t have any particular resolutions per se this year. I’ve been asked if I had any and my dad joke is, “I’m resolving to give up resolutions.” It’s a riff on my Lent joke when asked what I’m giving up for Lent. I give up Lent for Lent if you didn’t already figure that out.

I’m giving up Starbucks for several reasons. One, to save money since work has been so slow. I average about once a week I suppose and then Becca goes with me sometimes so at five bucks a pop it will save over $300 a year I estimate. That’s over three electric bills, or six months of Becca’s dance lessons or two months of groceries. When you look at it in dollars and cents it seems stupid to not stop.

Another reason is to save the calories. I count those calories and adjust the day’s food when I get a drink but the fact is I just don’t need it. There are many a day where I want it and definitely days where I have myself convinced I need it, like a drug, but I really and truly don’t need it.

Now this last reason is one I’ve had on my mind for a while and I figure if it gets written down and posted maybe it will get started. I’ve had an idea for a while about starting a website called operationsparechange.com. The concept being people donate spare change to a communal fund whenever they can by giving up things like coffee or lunch or that candy bar every once in a while.

The communal fund can be divided up however the donator wants it to be divided. In other words that person gets to say where their portion of the money goes. Local food bank to national organizations, one time donation, mix it up every month or just random choosing from an approved list.

I give up a Starbucks once a week and every week put that money in the fund. Once a month, my choice – could be twice a year – whatever time you choose, I say ok send that money to Stepping Stones in Prescott.

The site will take care of it for people who just don’t have the time to think about the small amounts of money they could be donating. It can be linked to a credit card, checking account or Paypal.

It needs work, it’s just a very rough idea. I already got the blog name for the website but I need a mission statement and some more thought and board of directors, I have a few people in mind already, maybe some more brains for guidance and some tech savvy help to write an app that makes setting up your donations easy.

Well as they say once begun half done. Now I guess I have to do some kind of follow through. I suppose that’s actually the hard part.

Until tomorrow…

