Slice 20 of 365

The Big Bang Theory is by far my favorite show of all times surpassing Home Improvement. I mean, I love Tim Allen, but Big Bang is a whole different level of funny.

My boys can be TV snobs and have all kinds of criticism for Big Bang. It’s strange because they look so deeply into TV and movies yet they just don’t see the underlying genius in this show. Perhaps they just don’t have the right life experiences, which would ultimately be a good thing.

First off it’s bringing science to a new generation and to a different audience. It’s not all science geeks watching the show, lets face it there are those who want only to stare at Penny (Kaley Cuoco). Bernadette (Melissa Rauch) has some good hotness going on too and then add in the brains.

But in general I think it does bring math and science to a younger generation and put science and scientists in front of people who were previously unaware.

Secondly it’s bringing all things geeky and nerdy to the front of the line. Anybody who was a bullied nerd when they grew up knows what I’m talking about. They’ve all had their successes but their childhood fears and angst still haunt them. It makes me feel better to know I’m not the only one who was so affected by the bullies and still thinks about it all these years later and still shivers.

It always hangs with you and there are plenty of bullies in adult life too unfortunately.

The bottom line is it makes me laugh, it makes feel good and I’d like to live next door to Sheldon (Jim Parsons) and Leonard (Johnny Galecki) and hang our for a night of Thai food and classic video games.

Until tomorrow…

