Tags

, , , , , , ,

Slice 13 of 365

For some reason I’ve been thinking about Saturday morning cartoons of my childhood lately. I think about what I used to watch vs. what my kids used to watch.

Over all cartoon wise that is, my kids did not sit down with a box of sugary cereal at 7:00 AM on Saturday mornings and stare at the box for the next 5 – 6 hours mindlessly eating while still in their pajamas like I did.

I have a lot of memories watching those mornings and laughing and feeling good with my TV buddies and safe and out of my father’s hair.

Things like Scooby Doo, Super Friends, Bugs Bunny and Land of the Lost were my staples.

Before each new season there was always a preview on each of the networks on the Friday night before showing snippets and announcing the new shows.  I lived for those nights.

That’s where I found out about other favorites like Honk Kong Phooey, The Perils of Penelope Pitstop, The Brady Kids, Harlem Globe Trotters.

I could list dozens more just from memory, Speed Buggy, Jabberjaw, Shazam! (live action), Josie and the Pussycats in Outer Space and The Archie Show (loved the comics). There were so many it’s really insane. Advertisers wet dreams.

One thing about Saturday mornings that needs to be singled out would be Schoolhouse Rock!. Who didn’t go away singing the latest lesson the whole next week during school? Even now something will spark a memory and I’m singing conjunction junction what’s your function out loud somewhere.

Until I went to high school this was basically how I spent my Saturday mornings. Wasteful? Perhaps it was, I didn’t know then. Built a lot of memories regardless.

Until tomorrow…

