Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

What’s with the mom commercials?

I have been watching a lot of the Olympics, it’s one of my favorite things when it comes around. The thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.

Unfortunately Proctor and Gamble had a very large defeat with their “mom” commercial in my eyes. In this day and age how sexist is it to just honor the mothers of the athletes?

Are we to believe all the athletes have just single mothers for a parent? Or is it that their fathers don’t care enough to be involved? Perhaps it’s because the dads are working two jobs to make it possible for the P&G advertising executives to make all the athletes mothers look like heroes, oh yes and make sure all the bills get paid because being and Olympian ain’t exactly cheap.

Are they kidding? How incredibly demeaning and insulting this advertisement is to half the parents of the globe.

Apparently they see parental responsibilities in a more traditional fashion.

I started this topic on Facebook and it sparked a pretty good debate between several friends of mine who all made good points.

From my friend Valerie in Washington who is a hockey mom: “Maybe it’s because moms do the lions share of carting these kids to all the practices and events. I know it seems sexist from where you stand but the majority of the work is done by moms.”

I guess I could see the majority of that work being done by the moms because the dad is out working but it doesn’t mean that he’s not just as loving and supportive of the Olympic goal.

From my friend (quite the understatement by the way…) Nancy in NJ who is a skating, and single, mom: “I am at the ice rink two days a week before 6, and while occasionally dads are there, I would hazard a guess that it is 80-90% moms. But I think the really relevant thing here is that advertisers are going to work on percentages – they want the largest percentage of people who actually go to the store and buy the toilet paper to recognize themselves – this is NOT a public service announcement – it is an ad – to inspire people to buy their stuff – not to make a philosophical comment on life lessons (though they are aiming to make it look that way)… and beyond the 90% of women picking their kids up, wiping their tears and holding them when they have been injured (which is the part the kid will remember – not Dad who paid for the lessons or Mom who drove them there) – it is probably a similar percentage making the toilet paper buying decision.”

I believe she’s right about this, it is an advertisement for one purpose and one purpose only, to sell their product to the most likely buyer. I would imagine that ad has an overwhelming place in many mothers hearts.

From my friend (again, an understatement…) Sharon in Michigan who is a martial arts instructor: “My hubbie and I actually share the parenting of our kids. We are BOTH there for them, both of us support them… both of us wiped away tears, helped them back up, cheered and supported them, and felt the joy and sadness of their wins and their struggles. Were my feelings more important than my hubbie’s? Of course not. I think that while it may be true that Moms do the lions share of the driving (and I do, trust me) there is NO reason to ignore the important roles dads play in dual parent homes”

I think she squeezed the toilet paper just right with that statement. I completely agree that it was an ad for one sole purpose, to sell product, but they could have sold product and not bitch slapped half the parental units on the planet while doing it.

What do you think?

